Sour cream cherry chip cookies: Another childhood food memory

It was the late 1950s.  Mom always out did herself when it came to making Christmas cookies.  She made drawers full – literally.  She made enough cookies to more than fill a three drawer dresser that was located in a room we did not heat during the winter months.  After both dinner and supper, she took a plate into the “back room” and returned with a dozen cookies – two for every member of the family.  How many cookies did she make?  We ate at least two dozen every day from Thanksgiving until some time after Christmas.  So let me guess – 80 dozen?   100 dozen?  It was a lot of cookies!

One year she apparently decided to hide some cookies, too.  And she totally forgot about them.  In March, my sisters and I were digging in the “rag bin.”  It was actually a tilt out wooden flour storage box in the pantry. We never used the bin for flour, so it was a perfect place to store rags.  At the bottom of the bin, we found a small round metal tin filled with soft sour cream cherry chip cookies.  It was like forgotten treasure, although truthfully, I recall they were a little stale.  But we were so excited to find and eat them that I still remember the experience and the taste more than 50 years later.

I don’t have a recipe to share.  Mom may have started with the Old-Fashioned Sour Cream Drop recipe that appears on page 182 of the “Big Red” Betty Crocker Cookbook  we used throughout our childhood.  I do not recall that mom, my sisters, or I every again made soft sour cream cookies with cherry mini chips. Maybe this year?